Cherry Blossom Lupine

I was standing in our garden the other day and kept smelling something sweet. I didn’t know what it was, because none of the flowers around were scented as far as I knew. Even our roses had no scent. But the closest thing to me was a pink Lupine, so I sniffed it anyway and was amazed by what I smelled. It smelled like cherry blossom incense. I had to do a double take because I couldn’t believe my nose. I went around the garden and sniffed all the other Lupines. Some smelled a little herby, but none had the sweet cherry blossom smell.

Our lupines always change colors. We can’t count on the same color coming up in the same spot from year to year. I don’t know if they are true perennials, or if they self-seed. We bought a yellow one, but it is now white. Even so, we will try and remember to collect seeds from this pink one, so maybe it can pass on the fragrance gene to future generations.

Leave a Reply

